you're reading...
Amazing Writers, Book I find amazing, Books I love

“Love, Ellen” by Betty Degeneres

If there ever was a time when you wondered what a parent might think when their child tells them a secret they’ve been keeping, Betty Degeneres’ Love, Ellen is the book to read. In it, Ellen’s mother writes about her childhood and later Ellen’s childhood and the moment she learned that her daughter was gay.

If you watch The Ellen Degeneres Show then you probably know that Betty Degeneres goes to almost every taping and supports her daughter. You’d probably never guess that Ellen’s mom wasn’t always so accepting and actually had a brief time where she didn’t speak to her daughter.

Love, Ellen shows the parents’ thoughts and actions when their child says, “Mom, I’m gay.” I think everybody expects their parents to love them unconditionally, but what people may not realize is what parents go through when they hear from their children that they’re not exactly what they imagined they would be and that their lives may in fact be more difficult.

Degeneres writes honestly about her fear of what Ellen’s life might turn out to be and later about her involvement with Parents, Friends & Families of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG).

Love, Ellen is a great read for a parent who needs to talk to another parent about their fears or for a child who wants to understand their parents’ decisions better. Betty Degeneres is an amazing woman and writer; her honesty will astound you.

Pick up a copy today!

About vitamincoffee

10 things you should know about me: 1) I'm a bookworm, born and bred. 2) I'm addicted to coffee and when I say addicted, I mean I need it or else I can't function. 3) I caught the travel bug a long time ago. I love visiting new places. 4) My cat Kiks is the cutest thing in the world. 5) I'm pretty sure I have OCD. I came to this conclusion after years of checking if I turned thing off, locked doors, or took out my contacts at least three times before leaving the house or going to bed. 6) I'm always itching to change my hair either in colour or cut. My friends joke that they can tell when pictures were taken based on what my hair looked like then. 7) I'm terrified of: a) flying b) vertical coffins (aka elevators) and c) spiders (gross!) 8) I may be in my twenties, but I do enjoy a cup of tea before going to bed. 9) I hate slippers ... a lot. I only like the ones I stole from the hotel in Ancona, Italy. 10) I love the sunshine and if it were up to me, I'd spend my days prancing in the grass. Yes, I did just say prancing, deal with it! Happy reading! :)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

read all the time, anytime

Buy a copy of my book “J.”

$25 on liferattle.ca, $15 (+ S&H) if you buy directly from me

FOLLOW VITAMINCOFFEE

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 173 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

