“Wake” by Robert J. Sawyer

So here’s the deal, I took a Sci-Fi class this summer a) to fulfill my program requirements and b) because one of my favourite profs was teaching it, but I was pleasantly surprised when I found that I really like sci-fi. I mean, I love me some sci-fi tv shows (Fringe and Doctor Who), but I just assumed sci-fi books would deal more with evil robots trying to take over the world, you know, things like that.

Wake was nothing like that. The novel is the first in a trilogy and focuses around a fifteen-year-old girl, Caitlin, who is blind and gets a new technology implanted in the back of her eye so she can gain sight. What happens next is absolutely amazing. If you’ve ever thought about the world wide web and what it might look like or even sound like, this is the book for you.

I actually got a chance to meet Robert J. Sawyer, he came into our class and read an excerpt from his new novel (the second in the trilogy) and let me tell you, the man is totally cool. He’s really funny and down to earth and that translates into his novel.

I recommend this book to those who think they’re not that into sci-fi and those who are. Sawyer does a great job including lots of technological lingo with a great cast of characters who keep the story line real and easy to understand.

One thought on ““Wake” by Robert J. Sawyer

Leave a Reply

