“Written on the Body” by Jeanette Winterson

I first read this book a few years ago and was captured by its complete and utter beauty. I’ve read it several times since that first read and I never get bored of it.

The story centres around an affair (which really doesn’t sound the greatest, but trust me it’s amazing) between two characters, a married woman and an unnamed and genderless narrator.

The story seems almost epistolary in that it’s written pretty much like a love letter to this married woman.

I love the novel for its simplicity. It’s a love story, pure and simple. And the fact that the narrator is not given a gender forces the reader to accept love as it is, no matter who the love is between … whether between a man and woman, a woman and woman, or a man and a man. Love is love and this novel proves that.

The poetic language allows for a very easy and quick read. If you haven’t read it already, I suggest you go to your nearest library or bookstore and grab yourself a copy. It’ll be the best decision you’ll ever make.

Written on the Body = beauty. See for yourself.

And just a short excerpt from the novel, “Time that withers you will wither me. We will fall like ripe fruit and roll down the grass together. Dear friend, let me lie beside you watching the clouds until the earth covers us and we are gone.”

2 thoughts on ““Written on the Body” by Jeanette Winterson

    • Hey Melissa! I actually just saw your post and was about to add my link to your post! haha I absolutely LOVE this book. I completely agree with what you said, it’s definitely my favourite book as well. I’ve read it a few times and it never ceases to amaze me. It lets you feel so many things. I felt happy and completely torn apart. For me, the narrator is a female. I find the way she speaks and her actions make her very feminine and like someone I can relate to on many levels. Winterson is one of my favourite writers. You should check out some of her other novels. I really enjoyed Sexing the Cherry.

Leave a Reply

