“Lullabies for Little Criminals” by Heather O’Neill

So a friend of mine recommended this book to me a few years ago and so I went out and bought it. I’m a little obsessed with lime green so I immediately loved the cover. Something about the title made me think it would be a cute and fun read. It was a good read, though I’m not sure I’d refer to the book as cute or fun.

The story revolves around a 12-year-old girl whose father is addicted to heroin and neglects to take care of her. The cleverly named Baby, eventually turns to prostitution when she comes in contact with a pimp who takes her virginity.

The story is a very heavy one and deals with difficult subjects, mainly drugs, sex, homelessness, and the tough relationships between parents and children. I think the novel can be taken as a great lesson as to what can happen when drugs become the centre of someone’s life and how the decisions we make can influence the rest of our lives.

I really liked the book, but then I do enjoy tough and heavy books. I would suggest reading this when you’re in the right mindset, it’s not one of those leisurely reads.

Leave a Reply

