“My Point … and I do have one” by Ellen Degeneres

Ellen Degeneres. Need I say more?

Well, maybe since this is a blog about my opinions about books so I guess you’re wondering what I thought about it. I loved it! Then again I love all things Ellen. She’s such a funny person, that’s why she won the “Funniest Person in America” contest back in the 80s and why she has her own show and is loved by everyone all over the world…. Sorry, I’m getting a little off topic here, aren’t I?

Right, the book. It was a really funny read. Very clever. If you’ve watched The Ellen Degeneres Show or seen any of her stand up (and liked it), you’ll love this book. It’s very… well, Ellen. I could hear her voice when I was reading it and isn’t that what authors strive for in semi-autobiographical/autobiographical novels? I think it is and so in my opinion, Ellen achieved her goal. I mean, the book was on the New York Times best seller list and that’s saying something.

The novel touches on things beginning with Ellen’s childhood and continues on through her life, all with Ellen’s funny and charming commentary throughout. Definitely worth a read.

Even if you don’t read the whole novel in one sitting (which you probably will), it’s great to just pick up whenever and wherever you are. It doesn’t even matter if you open the book at the beginning or on some random page, it’ll have you laughing and in a good mood in no time. So give it a go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

