“The Diviners” by Margaret Laurence

I read this book for a Can. Lit. course I took last year and I was slightly skeptical about the novel because I wasn’t too fond of the books we read before this one, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The novel revolves around a young girl named Morag (I know … the name is horrible). Her parents die when she’s very young and she’s taken in by people who she really doesn’t like,  a garbage worker and a woman who is too heavy to move from her chair. The novel is told from Morag’s perspective, who is now in mid-life, as she remembers her childhood.

I really enjoyed the novel because I saw a lot of myself in Morag. She works as a reporter (something I’m currently doing at my campus paper) and she’s an aspiring author (and eventually gets several books published) … something that I’m hoping to do one day. Morag is also a very independent character. She enjoys working on things alone and doesn’t depend on anyone else to either help her or do things for her; I’ve been told I’m a lot like that.

Morag is one of those strong female characters … something I think is rarely seen in books. She works hard toward her goals and doesn’t give up and never lets people put her down. She overcomes the obstacles that are in her way and achieves her goals. I think we need more characters like Morag out there.

Give the book a try. The story is easy to follow and really takes you in. Laurence does interesting things with pictures and narrative. If you’re looking for a book with great characters and a great story that applies to everyone, then this is the book you need to read. So what are you waiting for? Go pick up a copy and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

