“The Lovely Bones” by Alice Sebold

I read this book last year and loved it! The narrator is a young girl who has been murdered and is watching over her family, friends, and her murderer who lives next door. The young girl is stuck in the “in between” where she meets her murder’s other victims. Together they explore the “in between” and see what their murderer is plotting next.

Sounds crazy, right? It kind of is, but it’s the crazy and odd aspect behind the novel that make it an amazing read!

I must warn you, there are parts that were very hard to read. I felt my heart pounding out of my chest and feeling tears running down my cheeks. I found myself standing up and yelling at characters in the book.

You probably have heard that there’s a movie based on the book, or maybe you’ve even seen it, but it doesn’t compare to the novel at all. Movies rarely do justice to the novels they’re based on so don’t rely on watching the movie to avoid reading the book.

Go to your local library and pick up a copy of Sebold’s novel! You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

