“One Day” by David Nicholls

St. Swithin’s Day will never be the same after you read David Nicholls’ One Day. Let me start by saying that I absolutely loved loved loved it! I’m sure you’ve seen trailers for the upcoming movie “One Day” based on this book (coming out August 19 … you can find the trailer below) and the book, as is always the case with books turned into movies, is better than the movie. Not just because it’s more descriptive, but because you can know the characters much more intimately than you ever could with a movie.

So let me tell you a bit about the story… The novel focuses on two people, Emma Morley and Dexter Mayhew, who spent a night together on July 14,1988 after their graduation from University. They then spent the next day together (St. Swithin’s Day), which then becomes the theme for the novel… each chapter focuses on July 15 of the next year from 1988 until 2007. When I first heard about this idea I thought it was a new idea, but I wasn’t sure how well it could be pulled off. I mean, the reader is left to fill in all the blanks for all the days in between the July 15ths; however, I can tell you that you’ll have absolutely no problem filling in the blanks, Nicholls is a great writer and one that you’ll want to read again.

What I really enjoyed about the novel and the movie (I saw an early screening about a month ago) was the honesty of the story. Nicholls writes about Emma and Dexter, but each chapter doesn’t necessarily show them together in the same place. Basically, what I mean to say, is that the story is not cliche; it’s not your typical boy meets girl, boy falls for girl, boy marries girl, and they live happily ever after. Nicholls writes about a relationship between two people with enough truth that you can relate it to moments in your own life; at least I thought I could and that, in my opinion, makes for a great read…when you can relate to a story.

I won’t go any further into the storyline since I don’t want to give any spoilers away. You’ll just have to read it to find out! And I definitely recommend reading it and not just watching the movie. Although I loved the movie and am looking forward to seeing it again, it’ll never let you get as close to the characters as you will while reading One Day. And the other great thing about the novel is it’s not only witty and romantic, but it may just make you cry; I’ll admit, it made me cry.

As promised, here are two trailers:

One thought on ““One Day” by David Nicholls

  1. Hi there!

    Thanks for the comment – it is so nice to know that my little blog is being read by somone other than my mom! πŸ™‚ I really enjoy your blog too and your reviews definitely make me want to go out and read books I would not normally read!

Leave a Reply

