“The Book of Awesome” by Neil Pasricha

Don’t you just love it when something happens and you think to yourself, “that’s just awesome!” Well, Neil Pasricha’s The Book of Awesome lists simple everyday things that, when they happen, are just awesome.

Some of the awesome things that stuck out to me were: the feeling of scrunching sand in your feet, the smell of rain on a hot sidewalk, the smell of the coffee aisle in the grocery store, the smell of books (duh, blog about books), and when you’re right near the end of a book. I think that last one is one of my favourite feelings. My heart always beats a little faster knowing that these last few pages of the book are the end of the characters’ lives as I’ll know them. I’m always wondering what’s going to happen after I finish the book and whether the author had the same ideas for the characters as I did.

Some other awesome things that were included in the book were things I never thought about until I read them… things like: your favourite old, comfy t-shirt, a long hug when you really need, dangling your feet in water, the sound of scissors cutting construction paper (I’ve always loved this sound and I have no idea why), fixing electronics by smacking them (isn’t it great when you hit something and then like magic it works?), and (women will understand this one) taking your bra off after wearing it for hours.

Other awesome things: Β finally clipping your fingernails after you’ve been meaning to do it all week (I’ve got a bit of an obsession with keeping my nails short and nice), playing with a baby and not having to change its diaper (you get to play with a cute little baby and not have to deal with anything stinky? What’s better than that?), and of course, snow days!

Each item in the book has a blurb included listing why it’s awesome. It’s a really great book to check out on a day when you’re feeling down; it might just make you reconsider overlooking those little moments in life that are just so great that they might just make you smile and think, “awesome.” So check it out and see what’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

