“I Am Legend” by Richard Matheson

I am happy to report that I don’t always read novel, but I read graphic novels too! Richard Matheson’s I Am Legend is actually the first graphic novel I’ve ever read and it was for a class … so not out of my own freewill, but I did enjoy the experience.

I read it last summer for a Science Fiction class I was taking and at first I was most excited about the fact that it had lots and lots of pictures (translation: quick read, meaning I would be able to get through my stack of 15 books much faster). Although it seemed like the pictures would be something easily overlooked, they really weren’t. The graphic part of the novel actually includes a lot of vital information that’s not given in the small amount of text. You have to see what the author is trying to explain. So basically, you get to read the story as well as see it simultaneously, which if you ask me, is pretty cool!

I’m guessing most of you have seen the movie version of the graphic novel starring Will Smith and some zombies, but the novel (as is always the case) is better. The story is actually pretty different and the overall lesson to be learned is something that I don’t think the movie covers as well as the novel does.

After reading I Am Legend, I’ve read another graphic novel, a little less graphic (gory-less), but still a cool read. I recently went into a book store and spent some time looking at graphic novels hoping to find a few more to read. The store had a deal for 3 graphic novels for $20, but I only found 2 that I’d want to read (Captain America and Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice…. I thought it would be cool to see Austen’s work in graphic novel form since I really despise her work … maybe I’ll blog about it next so you can see why I don’t like it).

In any case, even if you’ve seen the movie, read I Am Legend. You won’t be disappointed … I hope… The graphic and narrative combination isn’t for everyone, but it’s worth a try, at least once and this is a good one to start with.

Leave a Reply

