“Catching Fire” by Suzanne Collins

Let me start by saying that I bought four recently, one of them being The Hunger Games and I didn’t think to buy the rest of the trilogy. I now realize that I should have. I tried to read one of the books I bought after I finished The Hunger Games in a few hours, but all I kept thinking was, “what will happen to Katniss and Peeta?” And then I found myself in the Teen Fiction section of Chapters picking up a copy of Catching Fire, the second book in The Hunger Games trilogy.

I don’t think it’s much of a spoiler if I say that Katniss and Peeta survived the Hunger Games in the first book. Catching Fire has Katniss facing the consequences of her actions in the arena. The Capitol (Panem’s “government”) isn’t happy and isn’t afraid to show their anger.

The novel takes place a few months after the end of the Hunger Games, when winners of the Hunger Games do a tour of Panem, visiting each District and finally the Capitol. It also happens to be the time of the Quarter Quell, a form of the Hunger Games that happens every 25 years and in between the regularly scheduled games. The Quarter Quell also happens to always have a twist. The previous Quell’s twist was that double the amount of tributes were selected. This Quell has a twist of its’ own that will have you on the edge of your seat throughout the entirety of the novel. I’m not kidding! I had 20 pages left and had absolutely no idea how the novel would finish.

What I really enjoy about Collins’ writing is that she always has you wanting to know what happens next. Catching Fire is fast paced and exciting the whole way through. It’s a definite must read. Word of warning though, make sure to buy the third book, Mockingjay, when buying this one; the ending will have you wanting to read on right away. It was my mistake to only buy the second book and not the third. I’m regretting it now, but I’m planning on getting the next one tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

