“The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest” by Stieg Larsson

So the Millennium Trilogy comes to an end, and what an end it was! I can’t tell you much about the plot of this book without risking some major spoilers so I’ll just say this, it’s definitely an ending you’ll want to read!

The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest picks up right where the previous novel (The Girl Who Played With Fire) leaves off. And when I say right where it leaves off, I mean RIGHT WHERE IT LEAVES OFF! The previous book ended on a major cliffhanger. I had actually planned on taking a break from the trilogy after the second book and reading something a little more upbeat, but I just couldn’t. I had to know what was going to happen next. And I definitely was not disappointed.

Unlike The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, which started off incredibly slow and ended very slowly, The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest is action packed from start to finish. There were very few moments when I wasn’t holding my breath wondering how everything was going to pan out. My heart was definitely beating fast! This novel was longer than the first, yet I read it much faster. So don’t be fooled by it’s thickness. You’ll definitely get through it quickly.

I’m considering watching the Swedish movie version of the novel. I heard a rumour that both this book and the previous one have been signed on for American remakes after the success of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo so we’ll see what happens with that. Until then, grab yourself a copy of of the novel. You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

