“Shopaholic Takes Manhattan” by Sophie Kinsella

When on vacation, “foreign money doesn’t count, so you can spend as much as you like.” A statement made by the one and only Becky Bloomwood that always seems to ring true with me when I travel. Don’t you agree? The money you’re used to seeing at home looks nothing like the money you use in a foreign country. I mean, American dollars look nothing like a Euro. The Euro is tiny and colourful compared to the large green bill Americans use. In the end, money is money and no matter where you spend it, you’re still spending your hard earned cash. Of course, this doesn’t cross Becky Bloomwood’s mind when she spends thousands of dollars at sample sales, buying cards for her soon-to-be tennis coach, friend in need and fencing instructor, buying loads of makeup from Sephora and shopping for a new purse at Saks Fifth Avenue.

The previous book in the series, Confessions of a Shopaholic, was nothing close to the movie by the same name. In fact, it was almost completely different. I can’t say the same about Shopaholic Takes Manhattan though. This novel seems to be the one that inspired the movie. As I was reading I felt like I knew what would happen next because I had watched the movie so many times. Luckily, most of the time, I was wrong. Not by much, but still wrong. So I never felt bored while reading.

A few people told me this book was hard for them to get through and was in fact the worst of the series. I can’t say that I agree. I loved the first book, but somehow I found Shopaholic Takes Manhattan a much more exciting read. For starters, hello! Becky Bloomwood is in New York, the Big Apple, the City that never sleeps … you get my drift. So that’s exciting on it’s own. Also there’s a lot more focus on her and Luke. Unfortunately, in this novel, Luke is … how should I put this nicely … a total and complete ass! And I’m sure anyone who has or will read this will agree. So that was one thing that I wasn’t jumping up and down for while reading, but you’ll be happy to know that Becky Bloomwood isn’t one to sit quiet and do nothing about how she’s treated. Girl Power!!! Woo hoo! (Sorry, I had to).

In any case, for all of you out there who read Confessions of a Shopaholic because the movie was coming out and you wanted to read the book before watching the movie and didn’t bother to read the remainder of the series, I’m telling you here and now, read the next book! You won’t regret it. Unless of course you catch the shopping bug and end up spending loads of dollars at the store because if Becky Bloomwood says “you have to invest in yourself before anyone can invest in you,” then I can’t say I didn’t warn you with my previous post. I’m happy to note that I didn’t go to any stores and didn’t buy any clothes or accessories or purses or makeup. The only thing I did buy was a car. But come on, that’s clearly an investment. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

