“Forever in Blue — The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood” by Ann Brashares

The girls with the travelling pants are back again for a fourth summer. This time it’s different. They’ve been apart all year at college and now they’re apart during the summer too.

– When Bridget’s boyfriend, Eric, leaves for soccer camp in Mexico, she decides to go on an archaeological dig in Turkey. There, she uncovers things about herself that she’s been trying to hide from for a long time. When she comes home, she’s a new Bee with a new appreciation for the family she’s always had, but never understood.
– Lena takes a summer art class and tries very hard to forget about Kostos. She finds a friend, fellow painter, model and lover in Leo, a handsome art student. Through art and her new found relationship, she becomes a more confident Lena.
– Tibby takes a summer script writing course and works at a video store in New York. She and Brian are going strong until something happens … and Tibby becomes someone she doesn’t recognize.
– Carmen’s new found friend, Julia, an aspiring actress, asks Carmen to come help build sets for a summer Shakespeare production. But little does Carmen (and especially Julia) know that set building isn’t Carmen’s true calling.

I remember reading this novel back in high school and thinking, “wow, I want to do cool things like that when I’m in university.” Maybe I didn’t have these exact experiences, but I could definitely relate to a lot of what Bridget, Lena, Tibby and Carmen went through during their fourth summer as the sisters of the travelling pants.

I will admit that I enjoyed the third novel in the series, Girls in Pants — The Third Summer of the Sisterhood, the most out of the series so far (I still have one more to go, so we’ll see if that becomes my new favourite!). And I’ll tell you why. I think everyone who reads this series will have a different favourite novel because they’ll relate to each novel differently and each character differently. Bridget, Lena, Tibby and Carmen are all very different and I think every reader will see parts of themselves in each of them, but they’ll relate to one particular character the most. For me, it’s Carmen. She’s an only child, raised by a single mother. The two are very close. Carmen has a tempter and describes herself as someone who “loves too hard.” She pushes people away when she feels like she might be loosing them and pulls them close just in time. If I were to sum myself up in a few sentences, that would be it. In the third novel, there’s a huge focus on Carmen, her personality and her relationship with her mom. In Forever in Blue, Carmen is a completely different person. She’s not herself and you’ll see why, once you read it.

That doesn’t change the fact that I love love love love this series. Did I mention how much I love it? You should love it too. Grab a copy of Forever in Blue once you’ve finished with the others.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

