“I Love Your Laugh: Finding the Light in my Screwball Life” by Jessica Holmes

Last year I went to an event called the Power of Women held in Toronto and although I had never heard of it, I had heard of Ellen Degeneres (duh! … I also happen to be slightly in love with her, but who isn’t?). Ellen was one of the speakers there. So of course I bought a ticket and it just so happened that the event was just a few days before my birthday. Double yay! Of the other women speaking at the event, on was Jessica Holmes, she was the emcee and what an emcee she was! I had heard the name Jessica Holmes in passing, but never really took the time to stop and watched any of her skits or shows … that was a mistake! The woman is hilarious as hilarious can be! She had me laughing from the moment she came on stage. It’s been a year and I’m still laughing at the jokes and skits she performed. So when I came across her book, I Love Your Laugh, I had no choice but to pick it up. Guess what? I loved it!

The book is an autobiography of Holmes’ childhood, struggle in becoming a comedian in Canada and her experience becoming a mother. The book is filled with hilarious anecdotes ranging from her father’s insistence on buying poop coloured cars to her exchange with her husband Scott after getting an epidural while in labour with her first child. Though only a few lines long, that conversation had me laughing until my stomach hurt. It went like this:

Me: Scott — it’s imperative that we meet Tom Cruise’s baby.
Scott: What?
Me: Just promise me that whatever happens, we’ll go hang out with little Suri. It’s really important to me.
Scott: Okay. We can hang out with Tomkat and their baby.
Me: Oh, thank God. You have no idea what a relief that is.
Scott: That’s true. I don’t.

(side note: believe it or not, the “Me” noted above isn’t me me, it’s actually Jessica Holmes “me”).

Holmes’ book is filled with many more conversations like that. Also, a cool thing that I really liked is that she includes inspirational quotes from people like Robin Williams, George Carlin, Mark Twain and many others. They’re nice to read either while you’re reading the book or after you’ve finished or just any time you’re feeling down.

I Love Your Laugh, aside from making me laugh, also inspired me. I’ve read other books by comedians, like Tina Fey’s book, Bossypants, and of course they made me laugh, but they didn’t make me feel as worthwhile as Holmes’ book. Holmes shares many many many MANY embarrassing stories, that also happen to be hilarious, she also turns them into inspirational stories. She points out that there are always things that happen that will be embarrassing or that we’ll regret or be ashamed of, but these things don’t make us bad people, they make us who we are. What’s the point of staying safe and saying “no” to everything, why not say “yes” and see where life takes you? Among the inspirational quotes, Holmes also includes short statistics about happiness and luck. Like, did you know that lucky people are lucky because they’re more optimistic and are more likely to say “yes” to situations and take chances? So next time you think something bad happened to you because you’re not lucky, stop yourself and take a chance on something, it may end up being the best thing you ever did!

Now to end my little rant, check out this clip of Jessica Holmes as Celine Dion. I saw her do this impression at the Power of Women and couldn’t stop laughing.

Happy reading! 🙂

One thought on ““I Love Your Laugh: Finding the Light in my Screwball Life” by Jessica Holmes

Leave a Reply

