“The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho

alchemist

A friend of mine gave me The Alchemist a few years ago. He said he had tried to read it, but it wasn’t his thing. As a hardcore bookworm, I couldn’t turn down a free book, especially one that’s constantly brought up in conversation. I have to admit, my friend’s words did stay with me for a while. I had the book sitting on my bookshelf up until a few days ago, but since I’ve decided that I’m going to read all my unread books this year, it was time to give The Alchemist a try.

I’ll say this, the one and only problem I had with the book was it’s incredibly slow pace. I’m not the most patient person so reading books that have a slow start, middle, and end is usually a struggle for me. Overall, I thought the book was very well written and the story, although slow, was one that every reader can identify with.

The story revolves around a young shepherd who has a recurring dream of a hidden treasure by the pyramids in Egypt. He travels from Spain to Egypt to find his treasure and meets a gypsy, king, and alchemist along the way; each of whom help him on his journey. Essentially, the main point of the Coelho’s story is: everyone has a purpose in life and it’s our job to find out what that purpose is. There will be people to help us along the way, but we have to want to find and pursue our purpose. It’s a great message to send out to everyone. I don’t think there are many people out there who don’t wonder about what their purpose in life is. The book doesn’t offer you your purpose, but instead, inspires you to find out what it is and follow it.

So, all in all, I suggest grabbing a copy of The Alchemist and giving it a try. Yes, the story develops very slowly, but the book is under 200 pages and leaves you feeling like going out into the world and following your dreams!

So, happy reading! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

