“Someday, Someday, Maybe” by Lauren Graham

someday

I was so excited to read Lauren Graham’s novel from the moment I heard she was writing one. My elementary and some of my high school years were dedicated to watching Gilmore Girls. I could relate so much to Lorelai and Rory’s relationship … I have a pretty similar one with my mom. (You can check out more about that in my book J.). But, back to Lauren Graham and her amazing novel.

Someday, Someday, Maybe is a fictional novel about Franny Banks, a 26-year-old woman who moves to New York with a plan to become an actress within three years. Now that her deadline is six months away, all Franny has to show for her dreams of becoming an actress are some auditions that didn’t work out and an acting class she’s taking. After performing in a class show, her luck begins to turn when two agents want to meet with her. …. And the rest you’ll have to find out for yourself when you read the book. πŸ™‚

I wasn’t surprised to find how easy it was to read Graham’s novel … I’m not sure if that’s because I knew Graham holds a BA in English or because of all the literary references I remember from Gilmore Girls. Either way, Graham finds her own voice in the novel (seriously, she really does … at times it was like I could hear her voice in my head while reading), she makes Franny very easy to relate to, and most importantly, she makes the story real and interesting.

Whether or not Someday, Someday, Maybe is based on Graham’s actual experience as a struggling actress, the novel is a great one. It’s funny, it’s spunky, and it definitely needs you to pick it up and give it a read.

Happy reading! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

