The woes of growing out a pixie cut!

Hey guys!

So something you should know about me: I get bored with my hair. I don’t mean the kind of bored where you try out new hairstyles or something. I mean the kind where you chop off all your hair, dye it and eventually decide to shave off the sides. That’s what I did almost three years ago and I’ve been trimming and shaving it ever since. But now that I’m getting married next year I want to grow out my hair so I have more options for styling it and looking fabulous on the big day!

Here’s what my hair looked like three years ago: 

Look! It's almost touching my boobs!
Look! It’s almost touching my boobs!

And here’s my current hair length: 

Just a smidgen shorter than three years ago ... don't you just love my sarcasm?
Just a smidgen shorter than three years ago … 

Even though about 10 people complimented me on my hair today while I was nonchalantly browsing through beautiful clothes I cannot afford at the mall (phew! Let me catch my breath), I am determined to grow out my hair. Obviously, I won’t be able to have the same length I had within one year, but I’ll be happy with a length past my ears … ideally by my jawline.

Actually, the goal is to get to this style: 

Ugh! Portia's so gorgeous!
Ugh! Portia’s so gorgeous!

And believe it or not, I’ve actually had a pixie cut years and years ago, grew it out and said I’d never do it again and then what did I do? I did it again, duh! Because I get incredibly bored with my hair. So, really, this growing out process is going to come with two challenges:
1. Actually growing out my hair and dealing with all the awkwardness that comes along with that.
2. Stopping myself from cutting it off again.

Although my deadline isn’t until next year, I do want to see some growth sooner rather than later so after hearing about a Lush shampoo that stimulates hair growth, I thought I would give it a go. While I was browsing the shampoos at Lush, one of the workers suggested another product to try alongside the shampoo (while also complimenting my hairstyle).

The shampoo I’m trying out is called New (because it promotes new hair growth, while also helping current hair grow longer and stronger. Which is awesome for people with thin hair.) And the other product is called Roots and its purpose is to actually go on your hair for about 10 to 15 minutes before you shampoo. Both New and Roots contain mint and cinnamon, natural products that stimulate blood in your scalp, which in turn promotes hair growth. I know, I know, it kind of sounds bogus, but it’s worth a shot, right?

Over the next few months, I’ll be trying out these two products and I’ll report back with my results, which will hopefully be amazing (fingers crossed!).

Don't fail me now, Lush!
Don’t fail me now, Lush!

If you have any tips or tricks for growing out a pixie cut, leave a comment below. I’d love to hear your suggestions! 🙂

One thought on “The woes of growing out a pixie cut!

  1. […] So you may remember that I started using some Lush products last month that are meant to help hair grow faster. I’ve been using Lush’s shampoo called New and a pre-wash treatment called Roots. Both these products are aimed at stimulating new hair growth and helping current hair grow faster and stronger. In case you missed my full post, you can find my full post here. […]

Leave a Reply

