My manicure routine

Hey guys!

While I was doing my nails today, I thought to myself, why not share my manicure routine with the world! Not to sound weird or bragy, but anytime I meet someone new, they comment on my nails always looking spic and span. The reason being I’ve got a bit of OCD when it comes to my nails. I love having my nails painted and I hate seeing my nail polish chipped, which essentially means I give myself a manicure once a week and paint my nails a new colour each week. I’ve got a gigantic nail polish collection, but I’ll leave that for another post! πŸ™‚

Below applying my nail polish, I get rid of any existing polish and then start on my manicure routine.

Here are my must-have tools:Β 

I do have more nail tools than this, but these are the essentials I use each week.
I do have more nail tools than this, but these are the essentials I use each week.

I labelled my picture so I can give you all a breakdown of the tool and what I use it for.

A Cuticle softener (aka a definite must-have). I apply this onto my cuticles and around my nails and let it sit for about two minutes. I don’t have a particular brand I use more than any others. Mostly it just depends on which one is cheaper when I go to the store.

B Once my cuticles are all softened up, I use the cuticle pushed to move all my cuticles back.

C And then use scissors to cut out my cuticles. I’ve heard people say you shouldn’t cut your cuticles, but I’ve tried just pushing my cuticles without cutting them and you can definitely see a huge difference. (WARNING: Once you cut your cuticles, you’ll have to continue cutting them or else you’ll end up with wonky looking cuticles.)

D Once all that’s done, I clip my nails. I like to keep my nails really short mainly because I hate the sound long nails make when they touch a surface like a keyboard or mousepad.

E After my nails are cut, I use a nail file to smooth everything out.

F And a buffer to get rid of any unevenness.

G The very last thing I do is apply Burt’s Bees cuticle butter around my cuticles and over my nails. I like to leave it on for at least half an hour before washing my hands. It gives my nails and the skin around my nails a little refreshment before I apply any polish.

So that’s really all there is to it! It does sound like a lot of work, but it’s something I enjoy doing … it’s like my yoga or my zen place.

What are your manicure routines? Is there a product you love using?

Leave a Reply

