My Decision To Live a More Natural Life

I suffer from panic disorder and for the last three years, I’ve been taking a variety of SSRIs to manage my anxiety and panic attacks. When the idea of taking medication to help me in living with my mental illness first came about, I was terrified and didn’t want to take medication. In the end, it became evident that medication was what I needed. My panic attacks were becoming more and more intense and I began inflicting a lot of rage and physical abuse to my body. In the end, I’m really glad I began taking medication. Not only was I able to get a hold on my mental illness and learn more about what sets off my anxiety and panic attacks, but I was able to live my life more fully and happily than I’d ever been able to do previously.

Last year, I filmed a YouTube video where I talked about my mental illness. If you’re interested in learning more about my reasons for taking medication, feel free to watch it.

Lately, though, my wife and I have been talking more and more about starting a family and since we can’t have children the old fashioned way, we’ll need to put down a lot of money to have kids. Because we decided I’d be carrying at least one, if not both of our future children, I want to make sure I give them the best and healthiest little oven to spend the first few months of their lives in.

Although SSRIs have helped me gain a grasp on my life again, they also have the potential of harming fetuses in their early development. I’ve spoken with my doctor, done my own research, and began seeing a naturopath and finally, I decided I wanted to live a more natural life and started getting off my meds.

For the last two weeks, I’ve prepared my body for the change: I cut down on my coffee intake (significantly), I began taking more Vitamin D, I started to exercise more, and I created a little friendship army to fall back on whenever things get really hard throughout this process.

This week, I began titration from the SSRI and have started taking Niacin. So far, I’m feeling great and I’m focusing my attention on keeping a positive attitude, while my mind and body adjust to living without the dependency on pharmaceuticals.

By no means is this a decision that everyone should make, but it’s the right decision for me at this point in my life.

Leave a Reply

